Monday, January 28, 2019

Diwali 2018: When is Diwali? Date, Holidays, Puja Vidhi

Diwali 2018: When is Diwali? Date, Holidays, Puja Vidhi

Diwali, or Deepavali, is the Hindu festival of lights, which is celebrated every autumn in india. One of the most popular festivals of hindus, Diwali symbolises the spiritual "victory of light over darkness, good over evil and knowledge over ignorance". During the celebration, temples and buildings within the communities that observe Diwali are brightly illuminated. The preparations, and rituals, for the festival typically last five days. Diwali is also known by other names such as Lakshmi Puja, Lakshmi-Ganesh Puja and Diwali Puja.

Diwali 2018

As we know diwali is about to come so peoples are getting eager to know more about diwali like how Diwali is celebrated, why Diwali is celebrated, Diwali time in india, diwali puja..

When is Diwali? or Diwali Kab ha

This year diwail will be celebrated on Wednesday, 7 November

Also read:

What is Diwali and why is it celebrated?

It is believed that on this day Rama returned to his people after 14 years of exile during which he fought and won a battle against the demons and the demon king, Ravana. People lit their houses to celebrate his victory over evil (light over darkness).

What are the 5 days of Diwali?

Different Names for 5 days of Diwali celebration
Day 1Dhanteras / Dhantheran / Dhantrayodashi / Dhanwantari Triodasi / Yamadeepdaan / Dhan Teyras
Day 2Choti Diwali / Kali Chaudas / Narak Chaturdashi
Day 3Diwali / Lakshmi Puja / Baddi Diwali
Day 4Govardhan Puja / Annakoot/ Pratipat /
Day 5Bhai Duj / Bhhaya Dooj / Bhai Beej / Dvitiya
Days before Diwali, people clean their houses and workplaces and on the day of the festival they decorate their homes with lights and candles. Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped on that day as the devotees offer prayers to the goddess of wealth for materialistic abundance and prosperity. Later, fireworks are performed followed by offering sweets and exchange of gifts among families, friends and relatives.

The celebrations begin with Dhanteras, followed by ‘Narak Chaturdasi’ on the second day, Deepawali on Day 3, ‘Diwali Padwa’, which is dedicated to matrimony, on the fourth day and it all ends with ‘Bhai Dooj’, dedicated to the sister-brother bond on the fifth day. On Diwali night, Jains celebrate the attainment of salvation by Lord Mahavira, while ‘Bandi Chhor Diwas’ is celebrated among Sikhs to mark the release of Guru Hargobind Singh from a Mughal emperor. A majority of Buddhists celebrate Diwali by worshiping Laxmi.

No comments:

Post a Comment